Home Page
If you wish to contact the school, please email *** Please remember to book your school lunches***

Meet the Governors

If you are looking for information such as minutes of Governing Body meetings, or other reports of the activities of the Governing Body, please click here .


Ridgefield Primary is supported by a team of dedicated governors who ensure that the school meets a range of statutory obligations and hold the management of the school accountable to meet our development goals and outcomes. The governors are also involved in the daily life of the school, attending assemblies plays and events and linking with classes. We value the contributions our governors make to Ridgefield Primary.


Our school governors meet regularly throughout the year. With the Headteacher, they take responsibility for finance, premises, health & safety and the curriculum. Parent governors are often available in the school playground, should you wish to talk to them.


Mrs Jane Rickell (Chair and Foundation Trust Governor)


I am a Foundation Trust governor with a long work history in education. I am now retired, but was a headteacher for 22 years in two very different settings. My first headship was in a school in Bethnal Green in East London. My second headship was in a large primary school on the north side of Cambridge city. After 15 years there, I moved into the Local Authority to work first as a link inspector and then as a School Improvement Partner. In this role I worked with the headteachers, governors and leadership teams in a number of primary schools across Cambridgeshire. I am a passionate believer in the entitlement of every child to a good education and have always promoted high expectations and achievement for all.

I have two very grown up sons and five grandchildren who live in Australia and US, so I travel when I can to see them and practice being a grandma. I live locally in Cambridge city.

Benjamin Strawbridge (Vice Chair)

Parent Governors

Elena Williams (Safeguarding)

Hannah Conway

Bruce Napier (Chair of Resources Committee)


Foundation Governors

Michael Priestley (Safeguarding)

Karen Chapman

Jane Rickell (SEND)


Co-opted Governors

Eleanor Neal (Chair of Curriculum Committee)

Gillian Owen

Sandy Eaton


Local Authority Governor

Currently vacant

Staff Governors

Chris Axten-Higgs

Stephanie Kounnou

Associate Governor

Victoria Trew

Salvatore DiMaggio



Read more
Read more